Flags of the Nations: Australia

The flag of Australia features a blue field with the Union Jack in the upper left quarter and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star in the lower left quarter. The right side of the flag contains a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.

Since September 1, 2009, the Church of the Nazarene's Global Ministry Center (GMC) proudly flies a flag each week of one of the many nations in which the denomination is present in ministry. Leaders were invited to send a national flag to be flown at the GMC alongside the flag of the United States*. The national flags rotate weekly, and photos of them raised are sent to the church leaders of that country.

This week: Australia

The Church of the Nazarene officially entered Australia in 1946.

Australia had a population of 23,470,145 in 2018. That same year, Australia reported 36 Churches of the Nazarene, 31 of which had been officially organized. Australia has 1,185 total members.

Australia has two Phase 2 districts. It is a part of the Asia-Pacific Region.

* = The weekly highlighted flag is raised on the middle of three poles in compliance with U.S. government protocols. It flies to the left of the GMC host-nation United States flag, which flies above the host-state flag of Kansas. The Christian flag flies on the third pole.

The Global Ministry Center is the mission and service hub of the Church of the Nazarene.

Posted in: